The extra point: Finally, a season of “parity” in college football

For several years there has been a cry, repeated time and time again by college football fans across the country: “I’m tired of seeing the same teams at the top every season.”

While a statement like this can sometimes be overstated, it’s mostly true of college football, where there have only been 13 different teams in the college football playoffs since its inception. Four teams (Alabama, Clemson, Ohio State, Oklahoma) have all made the playoffs at least four times in their eight years of existence.