Raiders meet Georgia Tech in third NCAA appearance in four seasons

DAYTON – In its third trip to the NCAA championship in the last four seasons, the Wright State volleyball team will travel to Milwaukee and play Georgia Tech in the opening round of the NCAA championship. The Raiders got to know their opponent on Sunday night as part of ESPN’s Live Selection Show.

The Raiders take on the Yellow Jackets in the first round on Thursday, December 1st. The Wright State-Georgia Tech winner advances to meet the Marquette-Ball State winner in the second round on Friday, December 2nd.

Wright State holed its ticket to last Sunday’s dance with a sweep over Northern Kentucky, as Jenna story was named Horizon League Tournament MVP while Callie Martin and Sam Ott were each named to the All-Tournament team.

This will be Wright State’s third appearance at the NCAA Volleyball Championship, with the Spring 2021 Raiders earning the first NCAA postseason win in program history with a win over Samford before falling to Texas. Wright State also received an at-large bid for the 2019 tournament, the first at-large bid for an NCAA championship in Wright State athletics history, in which the Raiders ultimately fell to Purdue in the opening round.

Wright State had a perfect 18-0 record in the HL game and has now won a total of 23 straight games. This is only the fourth time in Horizon League history that a team has finished the regular season with three or fewer losses, with the Raiders joining Milwaukee (1999 and 2007) and Wright State beginning with the shortened spring 2021 season. The Raiders have the only two undefeated league seasons in Horizon League history (Spring 2021 and 2022).

At Wright State, several Raiders were recognized as part of the 2022 Horizon League Volleyball Awards, led by Jenna Stories named HL Defensive Player of the Year for the fourth time in a row. Fellow fifth graders Laine Stephenson was named Player of the Year for the second time in her career and was head coach in her freshman year Travers green was named Horizon League Coach of the Year. The good news didn’t stop at the big honors, as Wright State recorded a league-high with four First Team honors Taylor Bransfield and Callie Martin Joining Stephenson and Story while Aaliyah Byers was named to the All-Freshman team.

Wright State enters the NCAA championship with a 28-3 aggregate record while Georgia Tech holds a 20-7 aggregate record.