How to vote in Fairfax County special elections

The seat became vacant after former Del. Mark Keam resigned in early September.

FAIRFAX COUNTY, Virginia — Early voting for a special election to be held in Fairfax County, Virginia is officially underway. The election is for the currently vacant house seat for the state’s 35th district.

The seat became vacant after former Del. Mark Keam resigned in early September. The special election was called by the Speaker of the House of Delegates.

“While I have loved every moment for the past thirteen years as your state legislator, I have made the decision to continue my public service in a different capacity,” Keam wrote in an email after his announcement.

The special election will be held on Tuesday, January 10, with early voting beginning on November 23 at the polling station at the Fairfax County Government Center.

Here’s what you need to know before you cast your vote.

Candidates for the 35th Circuit House of Representatives:

  • Democrat Holly M. Seibold
    • “I’m a passionate leader with deep roots in our community, a lifelong Democrat who has worked tirelessly to elect other Democrats, and I have extensive experience working with legislators on both sides of the Richmond aisle to pass legislation who have helped millions of people in Virginia,” said Seibold.
  • Republican Monique L. Baroudi
    • “I want safe schools, safe streets and safe neighborhoods. I want an education system that teaches our children how to think, not what to think. I want to lower the tax burden on working Virginians and create a business-friendly environment where good, high-paying jobs are created,” Baroudi’s campaign website reads.

Who is eligible to vote:

The election will be held using the old boundaries for that district prior to redistribution. Only voters in 20 districts are entitled to vote.

Voters can check their constituency on the country’s online portal:

    • 204 Madison
    • 213 Vienna #1
    • 214 Vienna #2
    • 216 Vienna #4
    • 218 Vienna #6
    • 701 Blakes
    • 704 Freedom Hill
    • 720 Thoreau
    • 726 Magarity
    • 727 Oakton
    • 729 Nottoway
    • 731 Tysons
    • 732 oak marr
    • 733 Kilmer
    • 734 Hunter branch
    • 735 Rotonda
    • 802 Cedar Lake
    • 844 midpoint
    • 856 Penderbrook
    • 857 island pond

Early voting locations:

People can vote earlier at the Office of Elections at the Fairfax County Government Center weekdays from 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m

Early voting will also be offered on two Saturdays at the Providence Community Center from 9am to 5pm on December 31st and January 7th.

There will be no voting on the following public holidays:

  • Thanksgiving: Thursday to Friday, 24.-25. November
  • Christmas: Friday 23 December after noon and Monday 26 December
  • New Year’s: Monday, January 2nd

The last day to vote early is Saturday 7th January at 5pm

postal vote:

Ballots will be mailed out starting November 23 to voters who have requested a permanent vote by mail.

To apply for a postal ballot, voters must apply by Dec. 30 on the state’s online portal or at the Fairfax County Office of Elections.

Ballots can be returned by hand to the Office of Elections or dropped into the secure, 24-hour mailbox located in front of the Fairfax County Government Center. If returned by post, ballot papers must be postmarked by January 10th and received by the electoral office by noon on January 13th.

For more information or questions, contact the Elections Office by email or by phone at 703-222-0776, TTY 711, weekdays 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m

Watch next: Young voters share what brought them to the polls for the midterm elections

WUSA9 is now on Roku and Amazon Fire TVs. Download the apps today for live news broadcasts and video-on-demand.

Download the WUSA9 app for breaking news, weather and essential stories at your fingertips.